The Revival of True Sainthood

By Peace4everynation

This is an extract from the autobiography of Mawlawi Ghulam Rasul Rajeki (may Allah be pleased with him), who was born into a family affiliated to the Qadiriyyah Order having produced, generation after generation, a profusion of Saints, both men and women, who were reputed in the Punjab for their visions and miracles. From his very childhood, Mawlawi Saheb was assiduous in his Salaah, and diligent in his invocations of blessings upon the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and other devotions. Allah the Most High led him while he was still in his teens to recognise the truth of the Promised Messiah (peace be upon him), and to become his follower, after which, people began to witness saintly miracles at his hand which astounded even his own family. Mawlawi Ghulam Rasul Rajeki (may Allah be pleased with him) stood as a living testimony to the sanctifying power of the Imam al-Mahdi whose coming for the rejuvenation of true Islam had been promised by the Prophet of Islam (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him).

An Incident at Jamun Bola

The village of Jamun Bola is situated two miles north of our residence. Many landlords of that village had been the well-wishers of our elders. When they came to know of the circumstances surrounding the illness and miraculous recovery of Jeewan Khan [through the prayers of Mawlawi Ghulam Rasul, in a previous episode], an inhabitant of Dhudrha named Khan Muhammad, who was one of these landlords, came to see my father and said: ‘For some time my younger brother, Jan Muhammad, has been suffering from tuberculosis. As an act of kindness, please instruct Mian Ghulam Rasul Sahib to stay at our house for a few days so as to pray for Jan Muhammad, that Allah the Almighty may grant him health too.” Following his request, and as per my father’s instructions, I set off towards them. Upon my arrival, and having refreshed my ablutions, I began to pray for his brother. After having ended with the salaam, I enquired as to how his condition was. The family replied: “The fever has completely disappeared and he has even started to feel hungry.” Afterwards, within a few days, such strength was born in his thin and weak body, that he was able to walk around. Having witnessed this sign, these people began to entertain some positive feelings about Ahmadiyyat; however not a single person entered into the allegiance of the Promised Messiah (pbuh). As a result, Allah the Almighty informed me: “THE HEALTH THAT HAS BEEN GRANTED TO THIS PATIENT WAS A FINAL ARGUMENT FOR THEM; AND IF THEY DO NOT ACCEPT AHMADIYYAT, THE PATIENT WILL BE MADE TO ENTER THE GRAVE ON THE TWENTY-EIGHTH OF THE MONTH OF SHA‘BAAN, IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT.” Subsequently, as soon as I awoke I asked for pen and inkpot and wrote down this divine revelation on a piece of paper and entrusted it to some of the non-Ahmadis of the village, cautioning them not to disclose the prophecy [to anyone] before the appointed time of death. Afterwards, I set off for the holy court of the Promised Messiah (pbuh) and there I spent the blessed month of Ramadan. When Allah the Almighty, in His wisdom, had caused the incident of Jan Muhammad’s apparent return to health to be talked about everywhere, the disease resurfaced and on exactly the twenty-eighth night of the month of Sha‘baan, he departed from this mortal earth. Following his demise, when the non-Ahmadis exposed my writings in front of the public, they were left speechless. How unfortunate it is that even after this, those people still did not accept Ahmadiyyat.”

An incident at Sa‘dullahpur

Sa‘dullahpur village is about three miles south of our village. Most of its Hanafi inhabitants were on good terms with our elders. For this reason, I used to visit every so often and preach to this village and try to convince them of the truthfulness of the Promised Messiah (pbuh). In this village, there was an Ahl-e-Hadith scholar, Mawlawi Ghawth Muhammad Sahib, who was a student of the Ghaznavi family in Amritsar, and was therefore exceedingly hostile and opposed [to Ahmadiyyat]. One day, after the Salaat-al-Zuhr at the mosque, I began to preach Ahmadiyyat in their presence and gave them some books and periodicals to study. When they found out from my preaching and from the Promised Messiah’s books that I believed Hadrat Mirza Sahib to be the Promised Messiah and Imam al-Mahdi, they started using foul language and abusing the Promised Messiah (pbuh). I reasoned with them saying that they could swear at me all they wanted, but that they should refrain from insulting the Promised Messiah (pbuh). In spite of this, they did not stop their abuse. Retiring to a private place, I fell down in prostration praying before the threshold of God with great sobbing and weeping. During the night, I returned to the mosque without having eaten any food and slept there. When morning drew near, Mawlawi Ghawth Muhammad Sahib came up to me in the mosque and begged for forgiveness, beseeching me to do the following: “For God’s sake, please write a letter for my allegiance to Mirza Sahib, otherwise I fear I will die right now and be cast into hell!” Observing his repentance, and greatly astonished, I enquired the reason for it. The Mawlawi Sahib proceeded to give me the following explanation: “I have seen in a dream that it was the Day of Judgment and the decree of my being cast into hell had been issued. To act upon the decree, angels of a terrifying appearance came towards me. They carried enormous clubs that reached all the way up to the sky. These angels grabbed hold of me and declared: “You have attacked the honour of the Promised Messiah (pbuh), the Imam of the Age, so go now to Hell and face your punishment.” I cried out in horror: “I repent! Please let me go!” The angels took no notice, and said: “Now he repents?” They then raised their clubs to strike me. Out of sheer terror I woke up and in this state I have come to you. For God’s sake, please have my sins forgiven and write a letter certifying my allegiance to Hadrat Mirza Sahib.” Due to this dream, he became an Ahmadi; and thereafter as a result of our combined preaching efforts, dozens of men and women entered into the Ahmadiyya Community.”

فالحمد لله على ذلك

5 thoughts on “The Revival of True Sainthood

  1. The Promised Messiah (a.s.) has answered these questions. He explained that a prophet is indeed told by Allah SWT that he is a prophet. This was initially taken metaphorically by the Imam al-Mahdi (a.s.) out of humility, until Allah told him repeatedly that he is a prophet and messenger. So, on that point you are right.

    The Imam al-Mahdi (a.s.) also explained that the difference between a Muhaddath (one to whom Allah speaks) and a Nabi is in the profusion of revelations foretelling future events. A Muhaddath would typically receive some revelations of this sort, but many more of the statement type, such as “I am with you”, “You are on the right path”, etc., which do not predict future occurrences.

    And yes, a prophet is indeed tasked with a specific mission. Being told to go and pledge allegiance to a Prophet is not a mission, it is guidance towards what is right for that person. Being ordered to call everyone to believe in him, on the other hand, would be a prophetic mission.

  2. What is the difference between a prophet and a saint who receives information regarding the unknown future as in this case?
    Is it that a prophet is informed that he is a prophet and should announce that to the people, whereas a saint is not?
    Is it that a prophet is tasked with a specific mission? If so, then what of those people/saints who receive revelation informing them to take allegience at a prophet’s hand, or to go to a specific place for propogation etc? Can that not be considered a mini-mission of their own?

  3. Jazak Allah Imam Sahib. If your time permits, please do us the honour of writing a few words about your meetings with Hadrat Rajeki Sahib (ra) and his blessed character so that it can be posted here and benefit us all. Was he also a teacher of yours at Jamia?

  4. II had the honour and privilege to meet Hazrat Rajeki Sahib ‎umpteen times. I used to visit him at his house in Rabwah ‎almost every day when I was a student of Jamiatul ‎Mobashireen. Once I asked him how he knew that his prayer ‎had been accepted. Usually he would tell the person ‎requesting him for a special prayer whether his prayers have ‎been accepted or not. He told me, “When I raise my hands ‎and pray to the Almighty for the person requesting me to ‎pray for him, there is one of the two things that happen. If ‎my prayers are accepted I feel as if a 200 watts bulb has been ‎switched on in my heart. I know that Allah has accepted my ‎prayers. On the contrary sometime I pray for a long time and ‎there is no light visible”.

  5. I am learning Urdu so I may read the works of the Promised Messiah(as) and the khulafa principally, but works like this are also on my list!!

    May Allah bless Hazrat Ghulam Rasul Rajeki Sb with an infinite station. Reading these instances of his emotion and zeal to convey the message of Ahmadiyya Islam to others, one is truly inspired! It also points out that true guidance is given by Allah and that the best tabligh is done on the prayer mat…

Join the Discussion

