Qaddafi: The Tyrants and the Tyrant

By TheArtofMisinformation

I read the below post ”Saladin: Who taught Europe the Ethics of War,” featured in the ”Muslim Times,” and could not help but be filled with a sense of deep sadness. The scenes of the late Muammar Qaddafi, Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un, bloodied and dragged through the streets of Sirte and then ultimately shot dead by a Muslim teenager with no understanding of history and justice was a real shock to the system. I have no sympathy for Gaddafi as a leader, he certainly was a tyrant, nevertheless I could not help but feel that the people dragging him down the street, fighting for the so called NTC, were not themselves young tyrants in the making. What shocked me even more was the Fox headline which cited the NTC as saying: Qaddafi to be buried in Islamic tradition. It never amazes me how highly and ceremonially many in the Muslim Ummah treat death and yet how incidental life, liberty and justice are to them. Take, for example, the smoothed over reports of how the rebels have been ethnically cleansing the black Libyans (Tuareg and others) or how the rebels have been shelling civilians. Both of these acts are illegal under the ethics of war set out by the Holy Prophet (sall Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) – oh, and by International Law, not that either of these seem important to the people in question or the so called ”protectors” of International Law.

As was rightfully pointed out by a friend, Adolf Eichmann, a Nazi responsible for the murder of millions of Jews, was not dragged down the streets bloodied, but taken to Israel, tried and then executed in 1962. The 24 most dangerous Nazis captured by the Allied Forces were not placed against a wall and shot in the back of the head, but tried in the Nuremberg trials after which eleven were hung.

Our traditions have taught us that we treat leaders with a particular dignity, especially when they have not shown that to us. Easy for me to say living a comfortable life and not having been through the trauma some Libyan’s faced – I know. But I would like to think that if any truly God fearing person was placed into such situations he would not drag a bloodied man through the streets as a victory trophy, ethnically cleanse portions of the black population, and shell the rest! As the same friend aptly put it: we Muslims have a problem!
.
I would like to think we all have the spirit of Salah al-Din (rahmat Allah ‘alayhi) within us. He had the spirit of Islam in his heart and that was because be it victory or defeat, it was, in his mind at least, for the Sake of Almighty Allah alone. He did not attain such majestic qualities of his own accord, though. He himself heralded from a tradition of nobility and honour that is traced back to our beloved Prophet (sall Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) and his Companions. One here recalls the famous incident in which Hadrat ‘Ali (radi Allahu ‘anhu), a close Companion and family member of the Prophet (sall Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) retracted his sword from the throat of an enemy and left him be. When asked why he did so, he replied that the man spat on his face and so, on account of his anger, he knew that if he killed him it would be out of anger and not for the sake of Almighty Allah. And if not for the sake of The Almighty, then what is left for a Muslim! As someone put it to me in an e-mail:
.
The kind of scenes we saw today are great (and depressing) indicators of how little both the ‘awaam and khawwaas’ [ordinary people and intellectuals] have absorbed of the legal and ethical guidelines of the Shari’a. It was a sorry sight indeed. I could say little else than la hawla wa la quwwata illa bi(A)llah.
Like our Master, Allah bless him and give him peace, said when the funeral of the Jew passed by: “was he not a human being?”
.
I will end with the above mentioned story of Hadrat ‘Ali (radi Allahu ‘anhu), described magnificently by Imam Rumi (rahmat Allah ‘alayhi) in his Mathnawi:

3721 Learn sincerity of action from Ali: know that (that) Lion of 

God was (completely) purified from deceit.

In a battle (against the unbelievers) he got the (upper) hand
against a certain champion. He quickly raised his sword and was
hurrying (to kill him).

(But the man) spat in Ali’s face, (who was) the pride of every
prophet and every saint;

He spat upon a face before which the (beautiful) face of the (full)
moon bows low at the place of prostration.

3725 At (that) moment, Ali threw (aside his) sword (and) slowed
(down) in (his) fight against him.

That brave warrior became amazed by this action and by (his)
showing (such) forgiveness and mercy without (it being the) place
(for it).

He said, “You raised (your) sharp sword against me: for what
(reason) did you throw (it aside and) quit (fighting) me?

“What did you see (that was) better than fighting me, so that you
became unenthusiastic in hunting me?

“What did you see so that (a) rage of yours like this settled down,
(and) so that a lightning like that appeared and (then) jumped back?

3730 “What did you see so that a splendor appeared in my heart
and soul from the reflection of that sight?

“What did you see which was higher than the universe (and
was) better than life, so that you gave me life?

“In being brave, you are the Lion of the Lord. (And) in manly
generosity, who knows who you are?

3733 “In generosity you are (like) the cloud of Moses in the desert,
out of which came incomparable trays (full of food) and bread.”

. . . . . . .

3745 “O Ali, (O) you who are entirely intelligence and vision! Tell
(me) a little bit about what you have seen!

“The sword of your mildness has ripped (through) my soul, (and)
the water of your knowledge has purified my earth.

“Speak openly. I know that these are His secrets, because killing
without (need of) a sword is His (way of) action.

“The Creator (who is) without (need of) tools or limbs, (and) the
Generous Giver of [all] these excellent gifts,

“Causes the understanding to taste a hundred thousand ‘wines’
(of) which the two eyes and ears are unaware.

3750 “Speak openly, O Falcon of the (Divine) Throne (and
capturer of) good prey! What did you see this moment from the
Maker?

3751 “(Since) your eyes have been taught understanding of the
invisible (realms), (while) the eyes of those who are present
[here] have been sewn up.”

. . . . . . .

3787 (Ali) said, “I strike (with) the sword for the sake of God
(only). I am the servant of God; I am not commanded by the body.

“I am the Lion of God, not the lion of craving, (and) my actions
are evidence of my religion.

“In battle, (the verse) ‘You did not throw when you threw’ (is
the attitude) for me. I am like the sword, but the one who strikes is
(like) the Sun.

3790 “I have removed the baggage of self from [blocking] the way,
(and) I have considered (anything) other than God (to be) nothing.

“I am a shadow (and) the Sun is my lord; I am the doorkeeper, not
a curtain (barring the way) to Him.

“I am like a sword, covered with jewels of Union; in battle, I
make (men) living not killed.

“Blood does not cover the lustre of my sword, (and) the wind
never takes (away) my clouds.

“I’m not straw. I am a mountain of restraint and patience and
justice. The strong wind never steals (away) the mountain!

3795 “Whatever leaves (its) place because of some wind is
(nothing but) twigs. Because there are many unfavorable winds.

“The winds of anger, lust, and greed carry (off) the one who isn’t
among those devoted to the (daily ritual) prayers.

“I am a mountain and my existence is His foundation. And if I
become like straw, the wind (moving) me is remembrance of
Him.

“My affection doesn’t move (toward anything) except by His
wind, (and) the captain of my cavalry is nothing except love for the
One.

“Anger (is a) king over kings, but (it is) my slave; I have also
tied anger underneath the bridle.

3800 “The sword of my restraint has struck the neck of my anger,
(and) God’s anger has come upon me like mercy.

“I am drowned in light, even though my roof is destroyed. I
became a garden, even though I am (called) the Father of Dust.

“Since a cause (other than God’s cause) came [into my mind]
during the battle, I found (it) suitable to hide (my) sword,

“So that ‘he loves for (the sake of) God’ may become my name,
(and) so that ‘he hates for (the sake of) God’ may become my desire.

“So that ‘he gives for (the sake of) God’ may become my
generosity, (and) so that ‘he withholds for (the sake of) God’ may
become my existence.

3805 “My avarice (is) for (the sake of) God, (my) generosity (is)
for (the sake of) God and (for) none else. I belong completely to
God, (and) I don’t belong to anyone (else).

“And that which I do for (the sake of) God is not imitation or show
(of piety), nor is it (done from) imagination or opinion; it is
nothing other than (direct) vision.

“I am liberated from striving and careful choosing, (for) I have
attached my sleeve to the (hem of) the robe of God.

“If I keep flying, (it is because) I keep seeing the place (worthy)
to fly to, and if I keep circling (it is because) I keep seeing the
object (worthy) of revolving around.

3809 “And if I am carrying a burden, I know where (to take it) to: I
am the moon and the Sun is the guide in front of me!”

_________________________________

Saladin: Who taught Europe the Ethics of War

This is an hour and a half movie or documentary about Saladin and Richard the Lionheart. If the movie inspires you in some ways, remember that the Latter Days, which is our times, are an era of Jihad with pen and the Holy Prophet Muhammad, may peace be on him had prophesied this. Come join the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community and volunteer your services for the Muslim Times.

According to wikipedia: “Saladin’s chivalrous behavior was noted by Christian chroniclers, especially in the accounts of the Siege of Kerak, and despite being the nemesis of the Crusaders, he won the respect of many of them, including Richard the Lionheart; rather than becoming a hated figure in Europe, he became a celebrated example of the principles of chivalry.”

Saladin did not destroy the True Cross, even though he had it after the Battle of Hattin. In the same spirit we want to preserve everything that is wonderful in the Christian tradition and useful for humanity, as we engage in our ‘Jihad with Pen, Keyboards and Internet!’

When Saladin finally captured Jerusalem, he did not kill the Christian population of Jerusalem, the descendents of the crusaders of the First Crusade, who had killed each and every Muslim inhabitant of Jerusalem during the First Crusade. He was following in the footsteps of his master, the Holy Prophet Muhammad, may peace be upon him, and trying to mimic his mercy and forgiveness that he had shown to the polytheist population of Mecca a few centuries before.

8 thoughts on “Qaddafi: The Tyrants and the Tyrant

  1. As these countries and people move away from the true Islam they commit these horrific acts and recite the kalima and words of the quran in ecstatic chants while they act as barbarians. With it the media link what is something reserved of beauty and positive teaching to scenes of complete chaos and murder. Our fight must be to show the world that this is not Islam. .

  2. Yes, of course it’s relieving to see that a killer of his own people has been neutralized from further killing, but to see a man beg for his life and then shot in cold blood should never be our idea of justice. We have to show that we are better and that the rule of law, justice and human rights matter for all including people that we might detest. He should have been imprisoned in my opinion. And I never celebrate someone’s death. This is the Islamic position.

    Maa Shaa’ Allah for writing this article, brother.

  3. Yes you are right, He did outstay his welcome, the word barbaric comes to mind as to the way people can treat a human, two wrongs don’t make a right.I personally felt very sorry, not just for him, but for mankind

  4. Extremely tragic. The issue is not if Qaddafi was an evil dictator. The question here is does Islam allow this kind of treatment to an enemy. These rebels should read the Sunnah of the Holy Prophet(saw) – how he dealt with captured enemies.
    I pray that may Allah soon give Ahmadis a country (meaning that majority of the country becomes Ahmadi) so the true servants of the Holy Prophet(saw) can show the world how ISLAM SHOULD BE PRACTICED by a nation.

  5. I’m no fan of Qaddafi but watching the scenes yesterday for some reason really upset me. I was perplexed as to why because of my negative feelings for the man, but after reading this post I realised it was anger at the fact Muslims were totally disregarding the pristine and beautiful teachings of Allah and his noble Prophet (saw). Those scenes will only further strengthen the unjust accusation against Islam that it is Na’aoodhu Billah a religion of hate and brutality, especially since the NTC have stated that they wish to establish a nation based on Sharia and moderate Islam…people such a Gert Wilders will jump on this exclaim ‘look here is moderate Islam’.

    People really need to think what damage their actions do to the beautiful name of Islam…because these days if you look remotely like a Muslim and do bad things, the religion gets the blame and not so much the person.

  6. A very wise and necessary post has been put by you!
    Indeed a great post.I agree that we are not taught to humiliate anyone whether it be a strong oppressor!
    We are(the non-ahmadi Muslims) loosing the beauty of Islam by our own foolishness.Islam is a peculiar and only beauty in every matter,which Alhamdolillah,Ahamdies Know deeply and spread that in the same way only due to the Guidance of Promised Messiah A.s.

  7. Qaddafi had no doubt outstayed his welcome and Libyan’s were entitled to take control of their destiny and remove the Qadaffi regime. But the pitiless manner of Muammer Qaddafi’s death will one day come back to haunt the people of Libya.
    Excellent post as ever, and reflecting the feelings of many of us who were horrified by the scenes of cruelty and inhumanity on display yesterday.

  8. I completely agree. Thank you for defending the islamic stand. The scenes of him being beaten and dragged on the street were truly shocking. The news I was watching didn’t even comment on his treatment. The phrase comes to mind “I wouldn’t even do that to my worst enemy…”

Join the Discussion

