Ever Try Blaming yourself?

.
.
Recently, I came across remarks that Ahmadi Muslims hardly know anything about traditional Islam and all they care about is the Promised Messiah (as) and Khilafat-e-Ahmadiyya! My natural reaction was that Ahmadi Muslims obviously know much about all aspects of Islam and so I was close to rejecting the statement altogether, but then I decided to read on. They added that they [non-Ahmadis] are educated in various things that Ahmadi’s have never heard of – things which they listed. I found it difficult to understand how they could make such an absurd accusation. Admittedly, I am not a person who has read countless books, but I had come across all those points discussed at many Ahmadi Muslims conventions I have attended.
.
If one pays attention when the speeches are going on during Jalsa’s, they will learn a lot about Islam. If one removes the shades of enmity and hatred when watching Huzur’s (atba) sermons, they will see how much more we discuss about many aspects of Islam. Most of these accusations came from Ahmadi’s who have left or Ahmadi’s who are still in the community, but consider themselves as non-Ahmadi’s. I am sorry, you guys sort of contradict yourself. On one hand, you say Jalsa speech’s are boring and on the other hand you state that you didn’t know anything about Islam while being an Ahmadi. Maybe that’s why you didn’t know, because you didn’t pay attention in the first place. It’s really your fault if you don’t pay attention – isn’t it? Every Jalsa speaker has their own strength and most of them prepare speech’s according to their strengths. I will admit that not all speakers are the same in-terms of delivery, but at the same time the main point is to listen to the content of the speech. It does not do much good when someone is giving a speech and people are aimlessly walking outside the Jalsa Gah or just sat not paying any attention. I admit that there may be a few Ahmadi’s who don’t pay attention but that is the case with any community. It only stands to reason that a person would find no benefit in something they choose not to listen to. A simple point, I know, but a fair one – wouldn’t you say.
.
Before I am accused of never attending any non-Ahmadi Muslim event or speech, I will settle that dust as well. A few months ago, Hamza Tzortzis came to an event organized by our University’s Muslim Student Association where I study. First, I debated on whether to go or not but, I am a person who is open to engaging and listening to anybody so long as they do not disrespect my beloved Jama’at (by disrespect, I mean to say insult the Jama’at and not disagree with it). He started his speech by telling us to open our minds and not be judgemental for the duration of the speech. Great advice which I of course appreciated throughout the entirety of his talk. I wish non-Ahmadi’s would listen to Ahmadi speech’s with the same approach, but anyways – it is what it is. I was actually quite pleased that Hamza actually started off like that. Then he started talking and he was a very good orator. He had clearly captivated the audience with his orator skills.
After the speech was done, I started thinking and some of the points he discussed were not correct. Some other’s noted this and posed questions and his replies to questions was less than satisfactory for many. Overall, an interesting discussion that he held. The point of this isn’t to show that I attended a Muslim event and wasn’t happy. Nor am I saying Hamza Sahib represents all of the scholars of Islam. I did mention a few good points about him, but overall I wasn’t the only one who didn’t agree with his content. I won’t lie and say that I learned nothing, but at the same time,I did not learn as much as I learn from our Ahmadi Muslim scholars. Some of whom are great orators and some less so, but all who are consistent in their high level of content, Alhamdulillah.
.
A general trend of an Ahmadi speech is to quote a verse form Holy Quran, discuss how it applied to Prophet Muhammad (SAW); discuss how it may or may not have been used after Prophet Muhammad’s (SAW) life. Then to discuss how the Promised Messiah (as) understood the verse and how the Khulafa-e-Ahmadiyya elaborated on the verse, in light of teachings from Holy Quran and ahadith. If non-Ahmadi’s feel that a certain section of this general trend is discussed more than another, that’s quite sad because each of these aspects always goes back to how Prophet Muhammad (SAW) applied the teaching.
.
I will conclude this short post by saying that instead of accusing Ahmadi Muslims of not knowing anything about Islam, one needs to evaluate themselves and truly ask if when they were Ahmadi’s, or when they listened to Ahmadi speech’s, did they really listen without being judgmental? Did they really listen by opening their minds? I see websites that analyze my beloved Huzur’s (atba) Friday sermon and criticise every single line he says to the point they even criticize his way of delivery. That is not what Hamza Sahib, the non-Ahmadi speaker, advised (i.e., approach things with an open mind), yet non-Ahmadi Muslims do that. It is quite disappointing that non-Ahmadi Muslims don’t choose to obey or listen to Ahmadi scholars, but even worst, from their perspective, is that they also don’t obey non-Ahmadi scholars. If anything, criticizing a person that I believe to be chosen by Almighty Allah is not a way to invite me to your ‘version’ of Islam.
.
God Bless.
7 thoughts on “Ever Try Blaming yourself?

  1. Just a thought on your point about the style of delivery. From my understanding of how the final sermon in particular of the Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) was delivered, men were placed at strategic points in the large crowd that had gathered to listen in order to relay the words of his speech. Those conveyors would not have had identical voices or delivery tones to the Prophet (saw), but I don’t think anyone there would claim the MESSAGE was any less profound.

    I’ve heard great orators make no sense. Equally I’ve heard great messages get lost in delivery. SEEKING knowledge should be considered the learner’s responsibility before it is the teacher’s one. Let us not blame our teachers for they are still more learned than us. They already know what they’re talking about, and I guess you’re only there listening because you want a share in that. Take what you can grab from a speech and be grateful. And next time grab some more.

  2. AA

    I don’t know whether it is a translation issue, maybe you can get a translation earpiece, it may solve the issue? I’m almost certain that the proceedings are translated almost instantly in various languages. This year I attended Jalsa Salana with a few non- urdu speaking Lajna, I noticed that we all were appreciating various beautiful examples that Hadhur (aba) gave even though we all spoke different language. Is this not the beauty of Islam? That is a universal religion. Surely, having a separate Jalsa Salana for English speaking would set a precedent, and so a possibility of separate Jalsa’s for different languages where would you draw the line?
    What I view at Jalsa, is a unity, a coming together of different cultures; it’s beautiful.
    The earpiece is just a suggestion, it may help?
    Wasalaam

  3. I take a different viewpoint, but it is not an Islamic must that you and I or anybody else must agree. And sometimes there is a great mercy in the lessons one takes from differences of opinions.

    What I would suggest, however, is that if you feel passionately about the introduction of new and different kinds of speakers, then you should sit with respected Imam Sahib of Fazl Mosque and discuss this matter with him. A completely new session would be logistically very difficult and costly, however you could suggest that in the sessions in between our beloved Hudur’s (ayyadahu Allah ta’ala bi-nasrihi al-‘aziz) speeches that the Jama’at considers asking some younger speakers to deliver talks. If that is the way you feel then you should make your point known and raise it. And now is the time to make such a suggestion as it would be pointless just before the Jalsa when people have already been asked and prepared their speeches.

  4. Point taken. I however also recommend completely separate Jalsa proceedings for western English speaking youth. And the style of delivery does matter in my opinion.

  5. I was few years old when I was used to read the risala Tashhezual-Azhan ( monthly magazine for Itifal in pakistan ). I read so much about hazrat Muhammad (saw) and off course about Promised Messiah (as) . Then I remember we were asked to write speeches ( yes write , not listen ) about the different aspects of hazrat Muhammad (saw) personality.
    I remember Our Murabi sahib used to give Daras- hadith after every asar prayer ( I used to go 5 minutes early for prayers and used to read the hadith books and I completed the whole ahadith book within month) .
    Then there was Alfazal newspaper , which I used to save it only because of the sermons of the beloved hazrat Khalifatul Massiah iv .
    these sermons were full of such beautiful aspects of quran and hadith and hazrat Messiah Maood’s (as) writing that I cannot express my love for it.

    how many things I have in my mind regarding how much knowledge I learned about the Islam from the ahmadiyyat .
    books after the books of promised messiah (as) specially the Malfuzat are full of knowledge of how to become true follower of the islam and there are thousands and thousands of the people who followed that instructions and God almighty started talking to them in this world.

    Tafsir quran of our first caliph and then second caliph is full of such knowledge regarding the quran that I cannot express .
    you do not just get knowledge after reading from those books but you will find prophecies written in those books which fulfilled years after and increase our beleive in the truth of the islam.

    would that guy who was telling the world that I did not got any information about the islam spend little time in listening to the sermon of 4th caliph and then his Dars-ul-Quran then he might have not said this .

    and remember one more thing ..
    merely memorizing the fact regarding Islam and personality of the prophet hazrat Muhammad (saw) and merely reading quran and hadith is not what God requires from us.
    there is the need to follow these things.

    then there is a need that when u follow these things then you get closer and closer to the God almighty and in this world you feel the love and help of the God .
    you need that n this world your prayers are accepted so that you could be sure that your are on right path.and this is not possible until and unless you follow the Promised Messiah (as) . if he (as) is the messenger of the God ( and By God he is ) then go ahead , reject him and then spend your all time and energy in following the islamic and quran and hadith but you will never ever be able to please your God . so you have to follow Promised Messiah (as) as well.
    It is really so sad when some ahmdi do not follow the teaching of the ahmadiyyat wholeheartedly and go to the other sects for spiritual satisfaction. Would he followed the hazrat Messiah Maood (as) teaching , he would have got true satisfaction and not merely satisfaction he would have seen the miracle with his own eyes , in his own life .

  6. aslam o alaikum wa rehamtulla
    i says that if Jama’at insist on reading Hadhrat Maseeh e Pak a.s books, it does’nt mean that jama’at dont respect or give importnat on islamic teachings. The thing is Hadhrat Maseeh e Maud a.s books are full of islamic teachings and thay are written in a way wich is very simple, pure and totally guided by Allah Ta’ala. If we see islamic society how many Muslims know about all and everything about Islam. I am not belaming anyone but just saying. weak people are everywhere. we cant judge any society by their weak ones.
    Ahmadi Murrabi and Qaid’s Imams and more over our beloved Hazoor (atba) always mentions and foucses on islam and its teachings.
    we can’t force anyone to do anything but we can only advise. as Qura’an says to advise others…

    jazzakAllah for your beautifull post.
    wassalam

  7. Jazakallah khayr brother for clearly and comprehensively articulating what I have been thinking. It’s very easy to say the jamaat only focus on the teachings of the Promised Messiah (as) if that’s what you’re specifically trying to look out for. But as you say, if you actually listen to speeches, read books and attend meetings with an unbiased and open mind, you see clearly that all the information is there.
    Your post articulates exactly how I feel towards those kinds of people who make such baseless allegations against the jamaat. Having said that, Allah also tells us of a kind of people where He has “set a seal on their hearts, and over their eyes is a covering” so that no matter what you say or do, they will never believe. I never really understood that verse until I came across this type of people.

Join the Discussion

